Dick Macks scores whiskey hat-trick

For the third year in a row Dick Macks pub in Dingle walked away with the Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year Award at this year’s Irish Whiskey Awards.

Knappogue Castle 14 Year-Old Twin Wood was named Irish Whiskey of the Year at the awards ceremony, held in Tullamore Dew Distillery’s Visitor Centre.

The Awards, now in their fourth year, recognise the excellence and innovation of indigenous producers and distillers and span a total of 20 categories including recognition of the best in Irish gin, vodka, liqueur, craft beer and whiskey bar of the year.

Dunvilles PX Single Malt won the Irish Single Malt (12 Years & Younger) category while Redbreast 12 Year-Old Cask Strength took home the trophy in the Irish Single Malt Pot Stills category.

Teeling Small Batch won best Irish Blended Whiskey (RRP under €60) with Midleton Very Rare receiving the top accolade for the Irish Blended Whiskey (€60 or more) for the second year.

Marrowbone Lane Irish Whiskey Society Bottling and St Patrick’s Cask Strength Irish Whiskey were the overall winners of the Irish Single Cask Whiskey and Irish Cask Strength Whiskey categories respectively.

The International Whiskey Bar of the Year went to Patrick’s Bar in Paris.

This year’s competition saw over 100 entries and each category of winners were awarded a trophy with the runners-up receiving a Gold Medal that can be displayed on their whiskey at Point Of Sale.

Hosted by Ally McAlpine of the Celtic Whiskey Shop in Dublin’s Dawson Street, the winners of the Irish Whiskey Awards will be celebrated at Ireland’s premier whiskey tasting event, Whiskey Live Dublin, in The Printworks, Dublin Castle, Dublin 2, on Saturday the 5th of November. The showcase will be divided into two sessions (13:30-17:00 and 18:00- 21:30). Tickets are priced at €42 plus booking fee with the Celtic Whiskey Shop donating €10 per ticket to Down Syndrome Dublin.

Masterclass tickets are an additional €5, with all money donated to Down Syndrome Dublin. 

Irish Whiskey Awards 2016



Irish Whiskey of the Year 2016                                 (Trophy)

Knappogue Castle 14 Year Old Twin Wood


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year 2016                           (Trophy)

Dick Mack’s, Dingle


Irish Single Pot Stills

Redbreast 12 Year Old Cask Strength                                     Overall winner

Redbreast 21 Year Old                                                              Gold Medal

Midleton Barry Crockett Legacy                                              Gold Medal

Redbreast Lustau Edition                                                         Gold Medal


Irish Single Malts (12 years and younger)                            

Dunvilles PX Single Malt                                                             Overall Winner

The Famous Galway Bay Irish Whiskey                                    Gold Medal

Teeling Single Malt                                                                      Gold Medal


Irish Single Malts (13 years and older)  

Knappogue Castle 14 Year Old Twin Wood                            Overall Winner

Knappogue Castle 16 Year Old Single Malt                            Gold Medal

Glendalough 13 Year old Single malt                                      Gold Medal


Irish Blended Whiskey (RRP of less than €60)

Teeling Small Batch                                                                      Overall Winner

Jameson Black Barrel                                                                   Gold Medal

Jameson Crested                                                                           Gold Medal


Irish Blended Whiskey (RRP of €60 or more)

Midleton Very Rare                                                                     Overall Winner 

Jameson The Distillers Safe                                                       Gold Medal

Jameson The Blender’s Dog                                                       Gold Medal


Irish Single Cask Whiskey

Marrowbone Lane Irish Whiskety Society Bottling                              Overall Winner

Powers Single Pot Still Celtic Whiskey Shop Single Cask                     Gold Medal

The Irishman 17 Year Old Single Cask                                                   Gold Medal


Irish Cask Strength Whiskey

St Patricks Cask Strength Irish Whiskey                                Overall Winner

Spade and Bushel 10 Year Old Single Malt                           Gold Medal

Dingle Distillery Cask Strength Whiskey                                Gold Medal


Irish Single Grain Whiskey

Teeling Single Grain                                                                     Overall Winner

Kilbeggan 8 Year Old                                                                   Gold Medal

Hyde 6 Year Old Single Grain Bourbon Cask                            Gold Medal


Irish Poitín

Bán Barrelled and Buried                                                             Overall Winner

Bán Poitín                                                                                       Gold Medal

Glendalough Mountain Strength Poitín                                      Gold Medal


Irish Liqueur

Merrys White Chocolate Irish Cream Liqueur                      Overall Winner

Merrys Salted Caramel Irish Cream Liqueur                         Gold Medal

Mrs Doyle’s Cream Liqueur                                                     Gold Medal


Irish Gin

Boyle’s Gin Small Batch                                        Overall Winner                                                 

Dublin City Gin                                                      Gold Medal

Thin Gin                                                                  Gold Medal


Irish Vodka                        

Strawboys Irish Vodka                                                                Overall Winner

Boru vodka                                                                                   Gold Medal

Kalak Vodka                                                                                  Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Barrel Aged Irish Craft Beer

Five Lamps Whiskey Barrel Aged Honor Bright                   Overall Winner

O’Hara’s Barrel Aged Leann Folláin                                       Gold Medal

Five Lamps Whiskey Barrel Aged Dark IPA                           Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year- Leinster

The Dylan, Kilkenny                                                                     Overall Winner

The Palace Bar, Dublin                                                                Gold Medal

Bowes Bar, Dublin                                                                       Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year- Munster

Dick Mack’s, Dingle                                                                      Overall Winner

Folkhouse, Kinsale                                                                       Gold Medal

The Shelbourne Bar, Cork                                                           Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year- Connacht

Garavan’s, Galway                                                                      Overall Winner

An Púcán, Galway                                                                       Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year- Ulster

The Duke of York, Belfast                                                           Overall Winner

McCauls bar, Cavan                                                                    Gold Medal

Fealty’s, Bangor                                                                           Gold Medal


Irish Whiskey Bar of the Year- International

Patricks Bar, Paris                                                                      Overall Winner

Sign Up for Drinks Industry Ireland

Get a free weekly update on Drinks Industry trade news, direct to your inbox. Sign up now, it's free