Glyde Inn – Irish Pub of the Year  

The Glyde Inn, in Annagassan won the overall Irish Pub of the Year 2018 at the Irish National Pub Awards held in the RDS last night.

The County Louth pub was crowned national champion after winning the Best Food Pub, one of nine categories announced at the awards which were presented by Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Brendan Griffin TD.

The Minister told an audience of just over 350 attending the event that while he himself had fought against the recent VAT increase in the Budget he’d also tried to increase the budget allocated to the tourist drive as an alternative.

The Glyde Inn, which dates back to 1770, was bought by Paul and Ann O’Neill in 1978 who still operate it in an “authentic, untouched and unhurried” manner.

It soon became a destination pub with a reputation for good food, drink, music and craic. In 2008 the O’Neills extended the premises to include the Linn Duachaill Restaurant and a Bed and Breakfast overlooking Dundalk Bay and the Mountains of Mourne.

While Paul and Ann look after the Bed and Breakfast, the restaurant and pub are now managed by their son Conor. Their award-winning menu also includes seafood caught by fishermen in Dundalk Bay and Carlingford, some of which is flavoured from experience gained by Conor during food trips to continental Europe.

Each September The Glyde Inn hosts The Taste of Togher Festival as part of The Discover Boyne Valley Flavours events.


The Irish Pub Awards nine category winners:

Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by BOI Payment Acceptance: The Two Sisters, Terenure, Co Dublin

Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO: Warehouse Bar & Kitchen, Letterkenny, Co Donegal

Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers: Franciscan Well Brew Pub, Cork

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Heineken: Hi Way Bar & Restaurant, Limerick

Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Molson Coors: The Old Town Whiskey Bar at Bodega, Cork

Pub Personality of the Year sponsored by Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard: Brian Barrett – Geary’s Bar, Charleville, Co Cork

Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo: Kenny’s, Lucan, Co Dublin

Best Newcomer sponsored by Hennessy: Sandyford House, Sandyford, Co Dublin

Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace: The Glyde Inn, Annagassan, Co Louth.


The winners were selected from over 500 applicants in this joint national awards programme presented by the Vintners Federation of Ireland and the Licensed Vintners Association each year.

“The Glyde Inn and all tonight’s winners are leading examples of what the Irish Pub is about – a friendly destination to meet family and friends to enjoy good food, drinks, music and entertainment, where tourists can mix easily with locals to experience an Irish atmosphere at its best,” said VFI President Padraic McGann (himself a fourth generation publican) at the Awards, “We’re delighted these Awards showcase what our publicans offer in terms of creativity, innovation and excellence. Publicans have adapted to changing consumer demands and are now offering excellent casual dining, contemporary beers and spirits, tourist attractions and overall entertainment to suit all types of customer”.

LVA Chairman Alan Campbell also presented the awards on the night and added, “The Irish Pub Awards has established itself as the definitive awards programme within the industry as it is set up to reward all aspects of the sector throughout the country.

“There’s great value for pubs entering the awards in terms of excellent national and local media coverage along with the in-depth management training our 63 regional winners receive. We’re delighted to have come together with the VFI on this great initiative”.

Partners to Irish Pub of the Year Awards are: Irish Independent, media partner; Drinks Industry Ireland, trade media partner; Febvre Wine Company, wine partner and Skillnet Ireland, management development partner.



Sign Up for Drinks Industry Ireland

Get a free weekly update on Drinks Industry trade news, direct to your inbox. Sign up now, it's free