Gleesons of Booterstown – Irish Pub of Year

Gleesons of Booterstown, County Dublin, is celebrating after being named National Pub of the Year at the Irish Pub Awards 2022 last night.



Irish Pub of the Year was awarded to Gleesons of Booterstown. From left: LVA Chair Alison Healy, Minster Heather Humphries TD, John and Ciaran Gleeson of Gleeson’s of Booterstown and VFI President Paul Moynihan.

From left: LVA Chair Alison Kealy, Minster Heather Humphreys TD, John and Ciaran Gleeson of Gleeson’s of Booterstown and VFI President Paul Moynihan.

The Dublin pub was crowned national champion from a field of 61 regional winners at a Gala Awards Ceremony in the Round Room at The Mansion House in Dublin.

The Awards are jointly presented by the Vintners Federation of Ireland and The Licenced Vintners Association. With over 700 entries from all over Ireland this awards programme continues to be recognised by publicans countrywide as a valuable way to promote their business.

Gleesons of Booterstown has been an integral part of its community since its establishment in 1954. The Gleeson family has developed the business to offer excellence across a number of areas including a traditional pub, an extensive food offering from breakfast through to late evening, a gourmet food corner shop & deli – and most recently the expansion of the premises to include luxury accommodation for visiting customers.

The pub has ably demonstrated a consistency in quality across all it offers.

The nine category winners of the Irish Pub Awards are:

Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave MarketPlace: Collins Bar & Restaurant, Dooradoyle, Limerick City

Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Fáilte Ireland: O’Connells in Howth, County Dublin

Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by BOI Payment Acceptance: Andy’s Bar & Restaurant, Monaghan Town

Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo: Casey’s Bar & Restaurant, Clonakilty, County Cork

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Edward DillonBuffalo Boy, Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim

Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO: The Porter House, Westport, Mayo

Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers:  O’Connells, Galway City

Best Digital Campaign sponsored by Heineken: The Bridge 1859, Ballsbridge

Best Late-Night Bar sponsored by Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard: The Reg, Waterford City.

“This year’s awards set a new benchmark for excellence in pubs across Ireland,” said VFI President Paul Moynihan, speaking at the Awards, “I’m delighted to see some truly fantastic pubs receive their awards on the back of the highest-ever number of entries.

“The Irish pub is rightly celebrated around the world so it’s important we have a prestigious awards ceremony that captures the unique qualities of our pubs. The level of innovation and excellence on display in our winning pubs should act as an inspiration to publicans thinking about entering next year’s Irish Pub Awards.”

LVA Chair Alison Kealy added, “The Irish Pub Awards have clearly established themselves as the definitive awards programme within the pub industry by trebling the number of entries in this, its third year, to over 1,700.

“The programme has been acknowledged for the excellent national and local media coverage attained along with the in-depth management training that all finalists have received that is beneficial to their business. We’re very pleased with the growth and success of the Awards in such a short time and it has now become a great vehicle to highlight the vital contribution that pubs make to Irish business, community and tourism.”

Media partner to the Irish Pub of the Year Awards is the Irish Independent and Drinks Industry Ireland is the Trade Media Partner.

Sign Up for Drinks Industry Ireland

Get a free weekly update on Drinks Industry trade news, direct to your inbox. Sign up now, it's free